Sneak #1 and Hippocampi

I was poking around Greek and Norse mythology today, trying to find some inspiration for my creature designs. I love mythological bestiaries! Anyway, this creature caught my attention:

image

HIPPOKAMPOI were the horses of the sea. They were depicted as composite creatures with the head and fore-parts of a horse and the serpentine tail of a fish. In mosaic art they were often covered with green scales and had fish-fin manes and appendages. The ancients believed they were the adult-form of the fish we call the "sea-horse".

From Theoi Greek Mythology

Doesn’t it look like Sneak #1? The heron-dinosaur-snake? I’d been having problems with how best to pose Sneak #1 in the final painting in order to show its kleptomania.

I’m going to look for pictures of more hippocampi to see if there’s a good pose/angle that I can use.

I could use my original composition and strip away the background, but I’m still trying to see if there are any other possibilities. If I can’t come up with a better one by tomorrow, I’m going to start painting the final based on the original.

Leave a Reply

