Sneak: Composition

Finally! Productiveness! I was going to go down to the studio to scan in my Pigeonholer final, but since I’m going to paint this either tomorrow or on Friday, I figured I might as well go to school after this one is done and scan them both at the same time.

I decided to move away from showing the Sneak in action in the final. I’m going to do that with pencil instead, which I think embodies the speed much better because of the sketchiness.

So, here’s my final composition! The Sneak crows triumphantly after counting its gold stationery hoard for the day.

 Sneak_Comp_01

It started off as this sketch.  The head and neck look really awkward, and it’s looking in a straight line forwards. I thought it was kind of boring – what was the Sneak looking at anyway? The copy?

Sneak_Comp_02

So in the second version (I accidentally overwrote it with the file you see above, so this is actually the 3rd major revision) I changed the angle of the head so it was more slanted upwards, sort of like a rooster crowing. Also, because the entire torso and head section seemed like it had been pasted on (didn’t really link with the rest) I looked at a picture of a cobra’s hood and drew in a yellowish underside, modeled after a cobra’s underbelly.

 Sneak_Comp_03

…and this is just for fun.

2 thoughts on “Sneak: Composition

  1. WOW, you managed to do up such a spontaneous piece of work!
    i feel that colours and shades gives the bird an enhanced look.

    Perhaps the bird can be coloured with a darker shade/ modelling to give a more 3D look.

Leave a Reply

